When ‘lazy weaver’ wars with ‘get it right weaver’…

Inside of me there are two distinct weavers… the lazy one… and the one who wants to do it right. Sometimes they get into a bit of a brawl about how a project should be handled and this weekend was one of those times!

You see, there’s this lovely yarn and it’s been begging to be a scarf for ages. Problem is that it runs through a range of purple-blue-green-orange tones which make it interesting to cross with another yarn. What had been intriguing me was, in fact, what would happen if I cross it with itself, but that could end up a busy mess, so what to do?

Well sample, of course.

Except lazy-weaver was saying (imagine this in a very annoying, whiny voice) “I don’t want to waste yarn on a sample! I just want to get weaving.” and that didn’t sit at all well with the other weaver.

They did, to their credit, almost compromise on crossing the coloured yarn with a purple that was guaranteed to work. Or even black if worst came to worst.  In the end though, get-it-right-weaver snuck in when lazy wasn’t looking and made sure we sampled with black, purple and the yarn crossing itself! Well done to the get-it-right-weaver, I say.

So now I know which yarn will be used and I’ve washed it, so I know how it’ll finish up. All while ignoring the quiet grumbling in the background of lazy-weaver.

Published by

fromthiscloth

I am a writer and crazy craft person

Leave a Reply

