Long time plait-er, first time edge-er

Having had long hair pretty much my whole life, I’ve done my fair share of plaiting / braiding. So, when it came to exploring different ways of finishing the edges on my weaving, I was pleased to discover how many of the edging techniques are just plaits.

Of course you still have to do something with the ends so, unlike plaiting hair or friendship bands, it isn’t the whole process. Which is why most plaited edges belong to rug weaving. Aside from wanting an edge that will protect the cloth of the rug and help keep it in place, you have a definite ‘wrong side’ for all those ends to sew into!

From my experiments so far, I can see definite uses for some of the edging techniques, but the time investment will also be a part of choosing to apply them.

Published by

fromthiscloth

I am a writer and crazy craft person

Leave a Reply

