Weaving patterns #2 – a different way with weft

One of the very first things I saw online when I started my massive weaving research bender, was “captured weft”. I think I fell in love with it right then!

So what is it? Well, you have weft coming into the shed from both sides and you wrap them around each other, before passing them back out of the shed the way they came. image of interlocked weft threadsThis means you have two weft threads on every pick, and they change colour / texture wherever you choose across the width of the cloth. It usually gives a staggered or jagged contrast line.

There’s a lovely freedom to making your pattern as you go, which appeals to me. I’ve been so busy trying other things there’s only been a teeny test of the technique in my weaving so far. Looking forward to a full scarf!

Published by

fromthiscloth

I am a writer and crazy craft person

4 thoughts on “Weaving patterns #2 – a different way with weft”

    1. Aah, I knew I’d seen it called something else as well! I like the sound of the weft threads “clasping” like they’re shaking hands.
      I’m just working my first “full” piece using this technique and it’s so enjoyable.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

